Guess what? My book just won an award!

ECDA-GoldStar-Jun-2014   Ok, so, as the title of this blog says, my book ‘Empire Under Siege’ won an award today 🙂 In fact it got a gold star (I haven’t had one of those since I was at infant school!). It’s absolutely brilliant news for me as it is the first official recognition that the book has received. I have to confess at this stage though (and the eagle eyed amongst you will know already- as it’s written on the badge above) that the award is actually for the cover, rather than the writing, but you know what? It doesn’t bother me too much as I haven’t entered the book for any literary (or otherwise) prizes. I am just chuffed to bits that the excellent cover designed by the guys over at Deranged Doctor Design has received the recognition that (I think) it deserves! I have put a copy of the cover below just in case you haven’t seen it yet.The award is actually a runner up prize in the fiction category. For those of you who aren’t familiar with Joel Friedlander’s book cover competition, I would advise that you check it out (see how I put the link in there to the June competition results? Crafty, huh?). You may also want to check out the rest of his site, it’s full of great resources and advice for writers. I’ve written about the importance of good cover design before, when I had a bit of a crisis over my first publication, ‘Paradise’. Essentially, I think it is important, in the thumbnail picture led world of the Amazon store et al, to get a good cover for your work.

EMPIRE UNDER SIEGE Jason K. Lewis

EMPIRE UNDER SIEGE Jason K. Lewis

In other news, work on ‘Phoenix Rising’, book two in the ‘Adarna chronicles’ is progressing well and it has now been sent to the editor. Once it returns it should (well, provided the editor doesn’t tear it to shreds) be only a week or so before it is ready for release! If you like this blog why not hit the like button below, or follow me on twitter, or do some other digital jiggery pokery? 🙂

6 thoughts on “Guess what? My book just won an award!

  1. Rich Feitelberg

    It was interesting to see your posts on book cover design as I struggle with this myself for my short stories and novels. But as a good source of stock images I would recommend Dreamtime stock images. I can almost always find an image there. The drawback is the images are not free.

    Reply
    1. Jason K Lewis - Writer Post author

      Thanks Rich, I have heard of dreamstime but I haven’t used them. Have thought about using shutterstock and may use one of them in the future if I cannot find what I want on the free sites (I know, I am a cheapskate!). I guess the issue for me is that once the editing of a short story has been paid for the process of releasing it becomes quite expensive, so trying to save money where I can (as I splash out on the covers for my proper books!).
      Many thanks and hope the writing is going well

      Jason

      Reply

Leave a Reply

