Goodreads giveaway

goodreads

Just a note to let you know that I have listed my first ‘Goodreads giveaway’. For those of you who haven’t heard about them, they are supposed to be a good way of getting exposure for your book. I am giving away a signed paperback copy of my novella ‘Empire under siege’, the first book in the ‘Adarna chronicles’ series.

Essentially what you do with a Goodreads giveaway is provide a copy of your paperback book for free as a prize (In my case it is one copy, you can list more if you wish). People enter your contest for the chance to win the book. The hope is that some of them might add your book to their ‘to-read’ shelf on Goodreads (which means that they may eventually purchase the book to read).

The results so far are quite interesting. The giveaway has been running for almost three hours and fifty two people have entered the competition. Meanwhile, twenty two new people have added ‘Empire under siege’ to their ‘to-read’ shelf.

Is this progress? Time will tell. ‘Empire under siege’ is doing OK on Amazon at the moment and is in the top 100 in a few categories (which, sadly, does not mean that it is selling like hot cakes!), but it cannot hurt to get more exposure.

A lot of work went in to the giveaway itself, not least of which was the production of the paperback edition through createspace (something I will be blogging about at a later date) and the design of a full paperback cover.

Why not enter the competition here for a chance to win? The copy on offer will be posted when the paperback is released on the 1st of July 🙂

If you are an author and you haven’t plugged in to the power of Goodreads yet (I have to admit that I still haven’t started to fully understand many of its parts, but I am sure there are lots of other benefits), then I would recommend that you high tail it to their website and register now!

If you like this post, well, why no like it below? Or follow my blog or like me on Facebook, or do something else social networky? 🙂

3 thoughts on “Goodreads giveaway

  1. myrahmcilvain

    Good Luck! I gave away ten copies of Stein House in January; got four good reviews and loads of “want to read” on Goodreads. Not sure if it helped my sales.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Goodreads | Ioana Leu

Leave a Reply

